Senator Travis Hutson

312 Senate Office Building 404 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1100 (850) 487-5006 4875 Palm Coast Parkway, NW Suite 5 Palm Coast, FL 32137 (386) 446-7610 FAX (888) 263-3475

August 11, 2015

Chairman Bill Galvano Chairman Jose Oliva Joint Committee on Redistricting 404 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1100

Dear Chairman Galvano, Chairman Oliva, and members of the Joint Committee on Redistricting:

I am writing to you as the Chairman of the St. Johns County Legislative Delegation to express my concern with the 2015 base congressional maps as currently drawn.

After redistricting in 2002, St Johns County has been wholly served by one Representative to the United States House, Congressman John Mica and Congressman Ron DeSantis, respectively. Since that time, the population of the county has grown quickly and exponentially from 135,882 in 2002, to 209,647 in 2013.

The current base map divides St. Johns County near it's southern end, separating a significant portion of the county's population into two different congressional districts. To deprive St. John's County of cohesive representation at the federal level is a disservice to our community, and I wholeheartedly request this committee's reconsideration of a congressional map to provide adequate representation for the county's unique population.

By dividing St. Johns County's population centers, Congressional District 6 becomes a Central Florida seat, and Northeast Florida loses a congressional delegate, a reduction from four to three delegates, effectively undermining the rapidly growing region's ability to bargain at the federal level.

In an effort to maintain appropriate and adequate representation, I ask for your consideration that St. Johns County remain singularly under one congressional district.

Thank you for your kind consideration of this request. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Senator Travis Hutson Florida Senate District 6

Committees and Subcommittees: Appropriations Subcommittee on Criminal and Civil Justice; Children, Families, and Elder Affairs; Commerce and Tourism; Communications, Energy, and Public Utilities; Community Affairs; Environmental Preservation and Conservation