No Bull, No Fluff, No Smudges
Your news source for
Flagler, Florida and Beyond

On Point: “Tonight They’re All Stars”: A Preview of the Teacher of the Year Gala

| January 13, 2011

Aimee Mock, left, the 2010 Flagler County Employee of the Year, Jill Stirling, the 2010 Teacher of the Year, and Superintendent Janet Valentine, rehearsing tonight's gala. (© FlaglerLive)

Flagler County schools’ annual gala celebration of teachers and employees begins tonight at the Flagler Auditorium at 6:30.

“You represent the best in public education,” School Superintendent Janet Valentine writes the honorees. “Your outstanding commitment and dedication to teaching and your ability to inspire a love of learning in students has led to your selection for teacher and employee of the year. As an employee of the Flagler County School District, you work very hard to bring our students the very best educational experience possible. Tonight we want to honor and thank you.

“Every day, you engage, energize, and inspire all of us to join together to do our best and to be the best for our children, colleagues, and community. Tonight we salute your achievements. Thank you for the significant contributions you make to our schools and to the entire school district. I am honored and grateful to serve as your Superintendent.”

Here’s Charlotte Marten’s weekly recap of local news, followed by a special report on tonight’s celebration of teachers and employees.

Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.

Click on each teacher’s or employee’s name in the table below to go to his or her page.

2011 Flagler County Teachers and Employees of the Year, By School (Click on Each Name to Read the Honoree's Story)

Teachers of the Year
School or Location
Joan Blasingame
Old Kings Elementary School
Deborah Breeding
Bunnell Elementary School
Cara Cronk
Indian Trails Middle School
Heather Doutrick
Rymfire Elementary School
Agatha Lee*
Belle Terre Elementary School
Christina Miller
Buddy Taylor Middle School
James Pignatiello
Flagler Palm Coast High School
Maureen Stowell
Adult Education
Beverly Thompson
Wadsworth Elementary
William Brian Tuttle
Pathways Academy
Louise Wolfe
Matanzas High School
Employees of the Year
Dario Arias
Custodial Services
Liz Astuto
Wadsworth Elementary
Laura Cappello
Plant Services
Margaret Carcagente*
Belle Terre Elementary
Gillian Ceballos
Indian Trails Middle School
Christina Connors
Rymfire Elementary
Peggi Hammack (Koch)
Old Kings Elementary
Angela Harris
Food Service
Roberta Kalva
Buddy Taylor Elementary
Cindy Kyska
Pathways Academy
Veronica Maggs
Adult Education
Shelley Rashelle Martin
Government Service Building
Darise Anne Pagello
Flagler Palm Coast High
Anne Risley
Kathy Summerlot
Matanzas High School
Kimberly Turner
Bunnell Elementary School
(*) Winners of district-wide honors.

See Also:

Leave a Reply

FlaglerLive's forum, as noted in our comment policy, is for debate and conversation that adds light and perspective to articles. Please be courteous, don't attack fellow-commenters or make personal attacks against individuals in stories, and try to stick to the subject. All comments are moderated.

Read FlaglerLive's Comment Policy | Subscribe to the Comment Feed rss flaglerlive comment feed rss

More stories on FlaglerLive

FlaglerLive Email Alerts

Enter your email address to get alerts.


support flaglerlive palm coast flagler county news pierre tristam
news service of florida
FlaglerLive is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization | P.O. Box 254263, Palm Coast, FL 32135 | Contact the Editor by email | (386) 586-0257 | Sitemap | Log in